Science Verification Images from DES

View of the big spiral galaxy NGC 7689 taken during the science verification stage of testing of the Dark Energy Survey telescope and DECam.


Charlie Kane - Class of 1965 Term Professor

Prof. Charlie Kane has been named the Class of 1965 Term Professor of Physics and Astronomy.

DES in Science Verification stage

The Dark Energy Survey and DECam were formally dedicated in Chile on Nov. 9.  The DES project is now accumulating data for Science Verification (SV) wherein images from the telescope are being transported to the National Center for Supercomputing Applications in Illinois, processed through the DES Data Management system and evaluated for utility in producing front-line science by the SV team. The SV team is co-lead by Prof. Gary Bernstein.

NBIC Graduate Research Award for Mitchell Lerner

Physics graduate student Mitchell Lerner, a member of the Johnson research group, received the 2012 Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Research from the Nano/Bio Interface Center, Penn's NSF-funded Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center (NSEC).  The award was in recognition of Lerner's research on nano-enabled sensors based on hybrid structures of carbon nanotubes or graphene and biomolecules, such as DNA or proteins.

Solving a Cosmic Mystery

Penn physicists and the Center for Particle Cosmology are featured in an article in The Philadelphia Inquirer in Monday's Health and Science section.

Alison Sweeney featured in Penn Current

Asst. Prof. Alison Sweeney's research is featured in the October 18 issue of the Penn Current.  The article emphasizes Alison's interests in "The biology questions ...

Media Fellows from Penn Physics

The October issue of APS News (pg. 5), features articles by two Penn Physics grads on their experiences as AAAS Mass Media fellows.  Each year, as part of a program run by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, APS sponsors two media fellows, who spend the summer at a media outlet, learning the craft of science writing.  2012 media fellows Kerstin Nordstrom and Meeri Kim describe their experiences this summer in the feature article.

Staff Bonuses

Mitch Newcomer and Simon Dicker are 2 of just 15 SAS staff members to receive awards from the 2012 School of Arts and Sciences Staff Incentive Bonus Award program. From over 50 nominations, these two were selected based on the recommendation of a staff and faculty committee to receive cash awards.  These bonuses recognize the hard work, accomplishments, and dedication - above and beyond the job description - of Mitch and Simon to the mission of SAS.

Vijay Balasubramanian receives new endowed chair

Vijay has just been named the Cathy and Marc Lasry Professor, effective immediately.

Mark Trodden interviewed by Physics World magazine

Prof. Mark Trodden is a regular contributor to the blogosphere through his regular contributions to Cosmic Variance, a blog hosted by Discover magazine.  Physics World magazine recently put out an interview on Mark in which he discusses the art of science blogging.