Congratulations to Professors Eugene Mele and Charlie Kane on 2015 Benjamin Franklin Medal Win

Professors Charles Kane and Eugene Mele along with Professor Shoucheng Zhang of Stanford University will be awarded the 2015 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics for their groundbreaking theoretical contributions leading to the discovery of a new class of materials called topological insulators, and for their prediction of specific compounds exhibiting the novel properties expected of these new materials. Both Professors are due to be honored with the medal April 23, 2015 at an award ceremony at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia.