CTL Graduate Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

CTL’s Graduate Fellowship for Teaching Excellence program honors graduate students who are dedicated to excellent teaching and is designed to foster conversations about teaching to help graduate students develop as teachers.

SAS Student Prizes and Awards

The Elias Burstein Prize – Paul Masih Das

Provided from an endowment established by friends, colleagues, and students of Elias Burstein, upon his retirement as Mary Amanda Wood Professor of Physics on June 30, 1988. Awarded to the graduate student in Condensed Matter Physics judged by the Physics Department to have a made a significant contribution to our understanding of the subject.

Herbert B. Callen Memorial Prize –Asja Radja and Jason Rocks

Making sense of string theory

A Q&A with theoretical physicists Mirjam Cvetic, Ling Lin, and Muyang Liu about what string theory is and how their recent discovery of a “quadrillion solutions” might change the course of the field.

Answering big questions by studying small particles

Using electronics designed at Penn, particle physicists study neutrinos, incredibly small and nearly massless subatomic particles, to understand the fundamental nature of the universe.

Congratulations to Dillon Brout, who was selected to become one of 24 new fellows of the prestigious NASA Hubble Fellowship Program! He is the first Penn graduate to be awarded this fellowship since it started in 1990.

"The program enables outstanding postdoctoral scientists to pursue independent research across NASA astrophysics, using theory, observation, experimentation or instrument development. Each fellowship provides the awardee up to three years of support.  The NHFP is one of the highlights of NASA's pursuit of excellence in space science.”

Congratulations to Dr. Bill Ashmanskas, who is the recipient of this year’s Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by Affiliated Faculty!

This award is presented annually in recognition of the contribution to undergraduate education made by the School's adjunct professors and lecturers. The award honors teaching that is intellectually rigorous, exceptionally coherent, and stimulates active and interactive student engagement in the learning process. Candidates nominated must have taught in at least one undergraduate course in the School of Arts and Sciences during the current academic year and at least three courses overall.