Physics and Astronomy Postponed Exam

The Physics and Astronomy Postponed exam will be on Tuesday, August 27, 6:00-8:00, David Rittenhouse Laboratory, A8

In search of signals from the early universe

Penn astronomers are part of an international collaboration to construct the Simons Observatory, a new telescope that will search the skies in a quest to learn more about the formation of the universe.

In Memorium: John Schrieffer

Former Physics faculty member, John Schrieffer, passed away on July 27th at the age of 88.  Prof.

Congratulations to Prof. Liang Wu, who has been chosen as the recipient of the 2019 William McMillan Award, for outstanding contributions in condensed matter physics

This award (which Prof. Wu will share with Prof. Barry Bradlyn of the University of Illinois) is presented annually to a condensed matter physicist for distinguished research performed within five years of receiving a PhD. 

In Prof. Wu’s case, the award is given “for novel terahertz and optical spectroscopy experiments on topological insulators and semimetals.”

Congratulations to the Roy and Diana Vagelos Science Challenge Award 2019/2020 Recipients

Adam Alghalith,* ’20, Biochemistry, Biophysics, Physics
Adam Konkol, ’21, Biochemistry, Biophysics, Physics
Grace Ringlein,* ’20, Physics
Adithya Sriram, ’20, Biophysics, Physics, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Irene Su,* ’20, Biochemistry, Biophysics
Srinivas Mandyam,* ’20, Biophysics, Mathematics, Physics

CTL Graduate Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

CTL’s Graduate Fellowship for Teaching Excellence program honors graduate students who are dedicated to excellent teaching and is designed to foster conversations about teaching to help graduate students develop as teachers.

SAS Student Prizes and Awards

The Elias Burstein Prize – Paul Masih Das

Provided from an endowment established by friends, colleagues, and students of Elias Burstein, upon his retirement as Mary Amanda Wood Professor of Physics on June 30, 1988. Awarded to the graduate student in Condensed Matter Physics judged by the Physics Department to have a made a significant contribution to our understanding of the subject.

Herbert B. Callen Memorial Prize –Asja Radja and Jason Rocks

Making sense of string theory

A Q&A with theoretical physicists Mirjam Cvetic, Ling Lin, and Muyang Liu about what string theory is and how their recent discovery of a “quadrillion solutions” might change the course of the field.