Post-doctoral Fellow, Toen Castle, to Give Us an Introduction to Kirigami

Kirigami is the cool and lazy cousin of origami – where you use cutting and rejoining as well as folding to create a 3D structure from a flat 2D sheet.

Physics Professor Philip Nelson Expands on New Textbook, "Physical Models of Living Systems" in SAS Frontiers Interview

Professor Nelson as quoted:

"I didn't feel there was a book that really spoke to Physics students about why this subject might be interesting to them... There was a gap there." A textbook is a daunting proposition for any academic, one that involves putting other research on hold...

Professor Marija Drndic Selected as a Penn Fellow!

Physics and Astronomy Professor Drndic has been chosen as a Penn Fellow for the next two years. The Penn Fellows program is designed to provide a select group of developing campus leaders with an opportunity to build University-wide networks, think strategically about higher education, and learn more about Penn and its programs by interacting informally with members of the University’s executive team.

Information about the current Fellows is listed at

Physics Majors' Xingting Gong and Stefan Torborg have been named 2015 SAS Dean's Scholars

Congratulations to you both on this accomplishment!

Professor Larry Gladney Elected Fellow of The American Physical Society


Citation: For his contributions to the study of B physics at the Tevatron and Babar, and for his outstanding efforts in science teaching and outreach programs for middle- and high school students and teachers. Nominated by: Division of Particles and Fields

Featuring Physics and Astronomy Professor Randall Kamien, Engineering with a Side of Origami

Origami is capable of turning a simple sheet of paper into a pretty paper crane, but the principles behind the paper-folding art can also be applied to making a microfluidic device for a blood test, or for storing a satellite’s solar panel in a rocket’s cargo bay.