Reappointed Director of LRSM, Professor Arjun Yodh

Vice Provost for Research Dawn Bonnell is pleased to announce the reappointment of Professor Arjun Yodh as Director of the Laboratory on the Structure of Matter (LRSM) for a six-year term ending June 30, 2020.

Matthew Lohr and Matthew Gratale from Arjun Yodh's group demonstrate soft matter properties at the Philadelphia Science Festival Kick-off Party at the Franklin Institute, April 25

Imagine a science wonderland filled with hands-on activities created just for adults. This kick-off event for the 2014 Festival included live science shows, music, demonstrations, and a variety of sensory stimulating stations-all tailored to grownups.

For the first time, the LRSM was invited to join and set up a demonstration booth called "The Surprising Behavior of Soft Materials." The night pulled in over 1000 attendees and was a great success. We look forward to our involvement next year.

P&A grad wins NDSEG Fellowship

Graduate student Tom Dodson has been selected to receive a 2014 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship. Sponsored and funded by the Department of Defense, NDSEG selections are made by the Air Force Research Laboratory/Air Force Office of Scientific Research, the Office of Naval Research, and the Army Research Office.  The American Society for Engineering Education administers the NDSEG Fellowship.

Nader Engheta to receive Gold Medal

Adjunct Professor of Physics and the H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering Nader Engheta is to receive the Balthasar van der Pol Gold Medal of the Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale (URSI).  URSI is a prestigious international scientific organization covering all aspects of the science of waves.  The van der Pol Gold Medal is one of URSI's highest awards, given every 3 years.

Charlie Kane elected to National Academy

Professor Charlie Kane has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. He joins 84 new members (including Scott Poethig in Penn's Biology department) and 21 foreign associates elected for 2014.

P&A Public Outreach

Physics & Astronomy department members will contribute to the Penn Science Café on Tuesday, April 29 2014 at the World Café Live Downstairs. Prof. Charlie Johnson will talk on Nano-biosensors for Cancer Detection and Bill Berner, Demo Lab Coordinator, will perform physics demonstrations among other Penn experts contributing to the West Philly Science Showcase.

Cosmic Filaments and Voids

Penn cosmologists, Prof. Bhuvnesh Jain and graduate student Joseph Clampitt, have, for the first time, determined the mass of dark matter along the filaments and voids of visible galaxies.  The unexpected power of new, clever analysis techniques made the measurement possible much sooner than expected and shows surprising results.  For an overview, see the Penn news release.

Charlie Kane wins Lindback Award

Charlie Kane, Class of 1965 Professor of Physics, is a winner of this year's Lindback Award.  The Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teaching were established in 1961 and are the highest teaching award given by the University of Pennsylvania. Charlie won for being a "fantastic lecturer" who made the most challenging course "an absolute blast".

Administrative Leadership

Prof. Arjun Yodh has been reappointed as Director of the Laboratory for Research on the Structure of Matter (LRSM).  In his first term as Director, Arjun led the highly successful renewal of the National Science Foundation Materials Research Science and Engineering Center grant under extremely competitive conditions.

Penn Physics outreach

Come see Penn Physics demonstrations at the Philadelphia Science Festival Carnival on May 3, 2014. The groups of Profs. Marija Drndic and Charlie Johnson invite the general public to see demonstrations on nanoscience from Penn research.  The Carnival runs from 10am to 4pm and the Drndic and Johnson groups will be at a booth between 21st and 22nd on Benjamin Franklin Parkway.